Return to LanScape's home page Go back a page...       Active TopicsActive Topics   Display List of Forum MembersMember List   Knowledge Base SearchSearch   HelpHelp  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin

LanScape VOIP Media Engine™ - Pre-Sales Technical Support
 LanScape Support Forum -> LanScape VOIP Media Engine™ - Pre-Sales Technical Support
Subject Topic: Problems debugging in MSVC6 Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
peter.conklin
Intermediate
Intermediate


Joined: May 01 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 9
Posted: May 01 2008 at 10:50pm | IP Logged Quote peter.conklin

Hi,

I have obtained a trial license, all installed ok. I have compiled the "Simple Console App" successfully, but when I attempt to debug or step into the code it just exits immediately, not even hitting the breakpoint at the 1st printf() in main(). I think it's something to do with a DLL used by LMEVoip.dll not loading or incorrect version? The last DLL loaded always seems to be mmdrv.dll but it is in my winnt\system32 directory.

Dev Environment is:
HP nw8440
Windows 2000 Professional SP4
MSVC 6++ , SP5
Lanscape Voip Engine v5.12

I have found however that commenting out all the code except for the printf() in main and it works e.g

Code:

int main(int argc, char* argv[])
{
     TELEPHONY_RETURN_VALUE status;
     START_SIP_TELEPHONY_PARAMS StartupParams;
     SIPHANDLE hSipEngine;

     printf("Starting the LanScape VOIP Media Engine(tm). Please wait...\n\n\n");

     // initialize the LanScape VOIP Media Engine.
/*     status = InitializeMediaEngine(0,0);
etc ...
*/
}



But then if I uncomment only the status = InitializeMediaEngine(0,0); then it again will not step into or stop at the breakpoint at the printf() e.g.

Code:

int main(int argc, char* argv[])
{
     TELEPHONY_RETURN_VALUE status;
     START_SIP_TELEPHONY_PARAMS StartupParams;
     SIPHANDLE hSipEngine;

     printf("Starting the LanScape VOIP Media Engine(tm). Please wait...\n\n\n");

     // initialize the LanScape VOIP Media Engine.
     status = InitializeMediaEngine(0,0);
/*
etc ...
*/
}



Output of loaded DLL's from MSVC

Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\ntdll.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\LMEVoip.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\wsock32.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\KERNEL32.DLL', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\ws2_32.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\msvcrt.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\ADVAPI32.DLL', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\rpcrt4.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\secur32.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\ws2help.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\winmm.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\USER32.DLL', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\GDI32.DLL', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\comdlg32.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\SHLWAPI.DLL', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\comctl32.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\SHELL32.DLL', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\winspool.drv', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\mpr.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\imm32.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\APSHook.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
Loaded 'C:\WINNT\system32\mmdrv.dll', no matching symbolic information found.
The thread 0x1058 has exited with code 0 (0x0).
The program 'C:\Program Files\LanScape\VOIP Media Engine\5.12\Software Examples\Bin\Debug\Simple Console App.exe' has exited with code 0 (0x0).

Any Ideas?
Regards


Back to Top View peter.conklin's Profile Search for other posts by peter.conklin
 
support
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: January 26 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1666
Posted: May 02 2008 at 12:06pm | IP Logged Quote support

Hi Peter,

Not sure what the problem could be. We just performed the following test to make sure nothing is wrong with the trial distribution image:

Machine: Win2k SP4
Tools: VC6 SP6

1)
Installed the v5.12.8.1 trial image.

2)
Copied the trial LanScapeVME.C license file to:
C:\Program Files\LanScape\VOIP Media Engine\5.12\Software Examples\Microcode

3)
Performed a build all to make sure all projects build ok (not including the SAPI sample).

4)
Then opened up the “Simple Console App” workspace, changed the IP address in the code, and rebuilt it by itself.

5)
Ran the simple console app under the debugger in the IDE and sent a call to it.

6)
The simple console app generated an incoming ring sound as expected

7)
Exited the simple console app.

So we did not see here what you are describing.

Is it possible you need something from CV6 SP6?

Here is a link to MSDN for service pack 6. You should probably be running SP6 any way:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/vstudio/aa718364.aspx

It might be a good idea to see if you get the same results using a different machine.

Support


Back to Top View support's Profile Search for other posts by support Visit support's Homepage
 
peter.conklin
Intermediate
Intermediate


Joined: May 01 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 9
Posted: May 04 2008 at 6:08am | IP Logged Quote peter.conklin

Hi,

I updated to SP6 with no success. However I did find the problem, it may assist others with a similar problem.

I investigated my inital assumption of a problem with the DLL by manually loading the DLL in the code with the WIN32 LoadLibrary() function. This allowed me to step into the code until I reached LoadLibrary() in which case the program terminated. I copied the DLL into the same Directory and now it works fine.

I checked the IDE settings and under tools->options in the Directory Tab the path was set correctly under the "Library Files" drop down listbox.

After some searching on the internet I found that some users do experience a similar problem. It turns out that the total of all the directores cannot exceed a particular amount of characters.

So I removed some of the entires and then it works.

Hope this might help others :)
Back to Top View peter.conklin's Profile Search for other posts by peter.conklin
 
support
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: January 26 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1666
Posted: May 05 2008 at 1:09pm | IP Logged Quote support

Hi Peter,

Good job. Thanks for posting that information and taking the effort to hunt down the problem.

Up until about a year ago, we still were using VC6 for all product development… however we never ran into the particular problem that you identified. Luck of the draw I guess.

Once again, good job. It will help others.

Support


Back to Top View support's Profile Search for other posts by support Visit support's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum






Contact LanScape Hear what the Lawyers have to say How youm may use this site Read your privacy rights